Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Software Tuning (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=88)
-   -   OFT Tune with aftermarket airbox (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137846)

hpanju 11-20-2019 01:22 PM

OFT Tune with aftermarket airbox

Hey guys
Im new to the scene here and just installed my perrin 2.5 exhaust. Looking to go uel catted header once it warms up a bit here up north. Just wondering if there is a tune option for a catted header with an aftermarket (grimmspeed) CAI on the OFT.

Lincoln Logs 11-20-2019 01:54 PM

You'll need custom tuning to fix the MAF scaling. Just swap on a stock air box, way better than anything on the market.

DarkPira7e 11-20-2019 02:07 PM

Really really, this platform does not benefit from CAI. Other than induction noise.

hpanju 11-20-2019 02:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DarkPira7e (Post 3277010)
Really really, this platform does not benefit from CAI. Other than induction noise.

Being 100% honest here. As an 18 year old I wanted that little bit more induction noise, also my first ever mod so I wanted to start with something slow.

hpanju 11-20-2019 02:14 PM

Best option for my situation would be? Ecutek? Dyno tuned?

DarkPira7e 11-20-2019 03:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hpanju (Post 3277012)
Being 100% honest here. As an 18 year old I wanted that little bit more induction noise, also my first ever mod so I wanted to start with something slow.

Simple enough, I had a CAI on my e36 325i because I loved the growl! I would go with the OpenFlash tablet for getting the car tuned with the intake. The intake won't cause your engine to eat itself or anything, it'll just run a little rough on cold starts and possibly lean (which is bad for your engine's health in a big way if you run too lean)